Passing through Pile Gate one steps on one of the most beautiful streets in the world; Stradun street. Restaurant Klarisa is on the right side, behind the Great Onofrio's Fountain.
History; Convent of St. Claire
One of the best known among eight convents at the time, Convent of St. Claire was the place where mainly the girls of noble birth were ordained. Franciscan sisters were named Klarisas. It was built during the 13th and 14th century, when a great care was taken in order to ensure the virtuous life of the nuns, yet the following centuries witnessed major restorations.
The convent housed a shelter for abandoned children already in the 13th century, whereas in 1432 the city authorities established here one of the oldest orphanages in Europe. The Orphanage building with an inscription in Latin language above the door and the window where the children used to be left can still be seen in the nearby Zlatarićeva Street.
In May 1806, when the Napoleon's army entered Dubrovnik, all convents were closed, and the Convent of St. Claire was turned into a stable and an ammunition warehouse. Later in history the Convent of St. Claire served various purposes. After World War II, a restaurant called "Jadran" was opened within the convent, which was later renamed "Libertas", nowadays named "Klarisa". In one part of the former convent, the offices of Dubrovnik Diocese are located.
In the atrium of the ancient Convent of St. Claire, on an exceptional location, the restaurant Klarisa offers unforgettable gastronomic experience.
Download Location Map